The world’s No. 1 Lydia Ko is ‘OUT’, but Park Min-ji is ‘IN’?

January 12, 2023 0 Comments

14th place Minji Park (25) is likely to qualify for a tournament where Lydia Ko (New Zealand), the world’s No. 1 in women’s golf, is not eligible to participate. This is possible at the International Crown, the only national competition on the LPGA Tour.

The International Crown will be held at TPC Harding Park in San Francisco, California for four days from May 4th. This competition was held three times every two years from 2014 to 2018 with a total of 32 players, 4 from 8 countries. In 2020, it was canceled due to Corona 19, but it was revived after 5 years this year.

The eight participating countries were determined by the sum of the world rankings of the top four players from each country as of the end of the CME Group Tour Championship, the final round of the LPGA Tour season last November. As a result, Korea (35 points), USA (35 points), Japan (85 points), Sweden (120 points), Thailand (183 points), England (197 points), Australia (298 points), and China (446 points) got the ticket The four players from each participating country will be determined according to the world ranking announced after the DIO Implant LA Open on April 3, and the seed for each country will also be determined at this time. 슬롯사이트

The first champion of this tournament was Spain (2014), the United States in 2016, and Korea in 2018. Korea’s current rankings, who will stand out as defending champions this year, are world No. 5 Jinyoung Ko, Inji Jeon (No. 8), Hyojoo Kim (No. 9), and Minji Park (No. 14). Lydia Ko and 7th place Brooke Henderson (Canada) will not be able to participate as New Zealand and Canada do not qualify for the 8 countries, respectively. On the other hand, Australia’s Grace Kim was qualified to participate despite the lowest ranking (182nd) ​​among the participating players. Rather than individual rankings, the even performance of each country’s players is the criterion.

This year, there has been a change in the way the game is played. After dividing the 8 participating countries into Group A (1st, 4th, 5th, 8th) and Group B (2nd, 3rd, 6th, 7th), a four-ball match was held from Thursday to Saturday. Through this, two countries from each group will be selected to advance to Sunday’s match. In the semi-finals on Sunday morning, the semi-finalists will play two singles matches and one foursomes (alternate) match to determine the finalists. In the afternoon, the final and 3rd and 4th place matches will be held in the same way as the semifinals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.