6.03 Batter’s foul play ‘Throwing the bat and hitting the catcher… ‘There is a stipulated regulation… Although it is not subject to VR, there was time to check it

May 21, 2023 0 Comments

 Jamsil game misjudgment incident that failed to stop despite the 4-sim agreement.

The misjudgment that came out in the bottom of the 9th inning of the Jamsil game on the 20th, when the match between LG and Hanwha was held, left a lasting regret.

In the bottom of the 9th inning, when the score was 1-1, the Hanwha bench saw through the fake bunt and slash strategy on 1 ball when Jeong Joo-hyun was at bat and pitched out.

Catcher Choi Jae-hoon, who was trying to throw the ball to second base after receiving the ball pitched out to the right by Jung Joo-hyun, who was in a hurry, was hit and fell down.

The judges gathered. The four judges gathered and carefully reached an agreement.

After much deliberation, the conclusion was that the strike was obstruction.

Hanwha’s new head coach Choi Won-ho, who was anxiously awaiting the results, left immediately. He protested vehemently, making a disapproving gesture of throwing his bat.

If the batter hits the catcher’s mitt while batting normally while holding the bat, it is obviously obstruction of hitting. However, the situation where the thrown bat is hit by the mitt is an obvious defense obstruction. As soon as commentator Ryu Ji-hyun, who was in charge of relay commentary, saw this scene, he was sure of the defensive interference, saying, “If the catcher’s defense was disturbed, the batter is out, and the runner is in the original position.” But the result was the opposite. Regarding the absurd 4-sim agreement, Ryu Ji-hyun, commentator, asserted that it was “an incomprehensible decision.”

Article 6.03 of the Baseball Rules, which stipulates the batter’s foul play, states that ‘if the batter hits the catcher (including the mitt) by throwing the bat into fair or foul territory with a third strike pitch or runners present’, the batter is out for a foul play. It is specified.

Direct regulations on the situation in which the batter throws the bat are stipulated.

The catcher couldn’t even see it as ‘coming out onto home plate and getting hit by the bat’.

Choi Jae-hoon was pitching out from a distance and was trying to receive the ball at the end of the left-handed batter’s turn. To hit the ball while holding the bat in his hand, Jung had to go far out of the batter’s box. Even the position Choi Jae-hoon was trying to catch did not reach the home plate.스포츠토토

Catcher’s interference and batter’s interference are not subject to video review. However, while the 4th trial agreement was being made, the waiting judges were able to check and advise using the video. It’s a pity.

The judgment in question was eventually determined to be a misjudgment within an hour.

The Korea Baseball Organization (KBO), which closely analyzed the situation, said, “As a result of additional confirmation by the KBO referee committee, it was a situation that should have been judged as interference with defense, not interference with hitting.” announced.

A situation in which a more accurate decision could be made because there was sufficient time. It was bound to be an unfortunate decision.

Fortunately, Hanwha led the game to overtime without conceding a goal by inducing a double hit and a floating ball in the crisis of 1st and 2nd base made by the referee. In the end, after 12 overtime matches, it was a 1-1 draw. Considering the rare mistake, it was fortunate that there was no game at the end of the 9th inning.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.